Professor Colin Dayan


Colin trained in medicine at University College, Oxford, and Guy’s and Charing Cross Hospitals in London, UK before obtaining a PhD in the Immunology of Graves’ Disease in the Laboratory of Marc Feldmann. He then spent a year as an endocrine fellow at the Massachussetts General Hospital in Boston, USA before completing his specialist training in diabetes and endocrinology as a Lecturer in Bristol. He became a consultant senior lecturer in medicine (diabetes/endocrinology) at the University of Bristol in 1995 and Head of Clinical Research at the Henry Wellcome Laboratories for Integrative Neuroscience and Endocrinology in Bristol in 2002. In 2010, he was appointed to the Chair of Clinical Diabetes and Metabolism and Head of Section at Cardiff University School of Medicine, and became Director of the Institute of Molecular and Experimental Medicine in 2011. He has a long established interest in translational research in the immunopathology of type 1 diabetes and thyroid disease and has published widely in both areas.

mh 2019 dar

Dr. Mohamed Hassanein

MB ChB, FRCP-Lon, FRCP-Edin, MPhil, CCST    

Dubai Hospital, Dubai Health Authority, UAE

Cardiff University School of Medicine, Cardiff, UK

Mohamed Hassanein was appointed as Consultant Endocrinology at BC University Health Board, Rhyl, UK, in 2002. He is an Honorary Senior Lecturer and the Associate Director for Postgraduate Diabetes Education, Cardiff University, UK. He’s currently working as a consultant in Endocrinology in Dubai Hospital, UAE.

He is the Chair of the diabetes and Ramadan International Alliance –DAR (, which has been set up in collaboration with the IDF MENA & Africa regions, the education study group (DESG) of the EASD and the Gulf Group for the Study of Diabetes. He co-authored recommendations on this subject for the IDF in 2016, ADA in 2005 & 2010, and for the BMJ in 2010 and participated as the first author or a co-author in almost 50 papers and has presented more than 40 oral presentations at international meetings. He also developed 2 educational programs for diabetes and Ramadan in collaboration with various international centres. He is a co-recipient of the Diabetes–UK Structured Education first prize in 2008 and 2009 as well as the European Association for the Study of Diabetes (EASD) education prize in 2009.

Dr Hassanein has also helped develop the Wales Diabetes Guidelines and is an examiner with the Royal College of Physicians for the MRCP clinical exam. He has been closely associated with a number of educational projects and has provided e-Diabetes learning to many countries in collaboration with Université Numérique Francophone Mondiale.


Dr. Richard Chudleigh


Richard studied medicine at Cardiff University and completed his specialist training throughout Wales. His MD on Diabetic Nephropathy was supervised by Professor Owens and he has published widely in this area. He is a Consultant in Diabetes and Endocrinology in Singleton Hospital, Swansea in South Wales. Richard has a particular interest in diabetes in pregnancy, insulin pumps and diabetic foot disease.


Dr Per Henrik Groop

Professor Per-Henrik Groop, MD, DMSc, FRCPE graduated from the University of Helsinki in 1982. It was here where he defended his thesis on ‘The relationship between GIP and beta-cell function in man’ in 1989. Following post-doctoral studies at Guy’s Hospital, University of London, under Professor Giancarlo Viberti, Professor Groop returned to Helsinki as Consultant of Nephrology. He served as Professor of Nephrology (Chair) 2010-2015 and is currently Professor of Internal Medicine (Chair) at the University of Helsinki. He is also Chief Physician at the Abdominal Center Nephrology, University of Helsinki and Helsinki University Hospital and Principal Investigator of the Finnish Diabetic Nephropathy (FinnDiane) Study at the Folkhälsan Research Center in Helsinki, Finland. He is Adjunct Professor at the Department of Diabetes, Monash University, Melbourne, Australia.

Dr. A. K. Das Dr. Ambrish Mithal Dr. Anil Bhansali Dr. BM Makkar
DR JPS SWAHNI Dr. Meena Chhabra Dr. Rajeev Chawla Dr. SARITA BAJAJ
Dr. Shashank Joshi Dr. Shalini Jaggi